Parkinson’s Law

I will always be sure to give you some form of context or story as to what led me to this writing. Over the last few months, I’ve found that I’ve been horrible with my time. Enter a group called “Spacetime Monotasking”. I’ve talked about Monotasking a little before, but I will admit that monotasking has become one of the most calming things to get introduced to. I got very interested in learning more about monotasking, & I have joined their Discord & everything. Well, one of the posts that were shared was related to “Parkinson’s Law”, which relates to getting more things done in the proper/smaller amount of time. Let’s just call it what it is…people don’t do well with their time management at all. People being Bryan.

A simple breakdown of the Parkinson’s Law:


Parkinson’s Law—the amount of work expands to fill the time available for its completion—means that if you give yourself a week to complete a two-hour task, then (psychologically speaking) the task will increase in complexity and become more daunting so as to fill that week

https://www.bbc.com/worklife/article/20191107-the-law-that-explains-why-you-cant-get-anything-done

I know that this tells a little bit, but it doesn’t give the full meaning. The main thing I gathered from it is that we know how long something takes to do. However, we find this way to complicate and expand how long something should take vs. the amount of time we take to work on things in our life. I have an upcoming blog that I’ll be talking about related to “body doubling”, which helps in countering that. That being said, I want you to truly manage and work harder on managing your time. I’m not saying that you have to block off everything, but you should be sure that the time you’re managing is being managed properly. I am saying however to sit down & write out your tasks and things you know you need to get done to not only get through your routine, but to also achieve and accomplish your goals throughout your day & most importantly your life. I hope everyone enjoys this blog, & next week, we’ll get into the Eisenhower Matrix. May you all enjoy the rest of your week.

One thought on “Parkinson’s Law

Leave a comment